How to sign out of Mail on a Mac

0


No longer want or need to receive emails in the macOS Mail app? If so, you can sign out of an email account, like Gmail and Outlook, on your Mac and this will stop your emails from syncing with your Mail app.

Depending on how long you want to stay logged out, you can either log out of Mail temporarily or completely remove your email account from your computer.

We’ll show you how to do both.

How is logging out of the Mail app different from logging out of webmail services?

Apple Mail, or simply Mail, is Apple’s default email client that lets you add multiple email accounts to your devices so you can get all of your emails in one place.

When you sign out of an email from the Mail app, you’re basically not looking to reuse that email account anytime soon on your computer. This is because disconnecting from an email client such as Mail means that you don’t want to send and receive emails with this account in the Mail app, and you don’t want to keep emails downloaded to your Mac.

However, logging out of webmail is different. When you log out of an email service, like Gmail, you simply erase a cookie in the browser that stores your session data. Since your browser doesn’t download or store your emails, logging out of webmail doesn’t mean much.

VIDEO OF THE DAY MAKEUSE

Ultimately, while you might want to sign out of the Gmail website every time you’re done using it, you only need to sign out of Mail if you never want to use that account again. messaging.

How to sign out of Mail on a Mac

You can sign out of Mail using the Mail app itself on your Mac. Just follow the steps below:

  1. Open the To post application.
  2. Click it Mail> Accounts option at the top of the screen.
  3. Select the email account you want to disconnect from on the left.
  4. Uncheck the To post option on the right.



Internet accounts in Mail

This specific email account is now disabled and the Mail app will no longer be able to use it. This also deletes the messages from the email account on your Mac. You will still be able to access copies of emails on the account’s email server.

For example, if you sign out of Outlook on your Mac, you will lose all of your Outlook emails in Mail, but you can keep them in Outlook after you connect to its web server.

If or when you reactivate the account, the Mail app will download any messages on the server that have not yet synced with your computer.

How to permanently delete an email account in Mail on a Mac

You can permanently delete your email account if you no longer intend to use it on your Mac.

You can do this as follows in the Mail app:

  1. Start the To post application.
  2. Click it To post menu at the top and select Accounts.
  3. Choose the account you want to delete on the left.
  4. Click it To delete (-) sign at the bottom to delete the account.



Deleting an Internet Account

Mail will completely delete your selected account, along with any downloaded emails associated with it, from your Mac.

Note that if the account is in use by another app on your Mac, you will be redirected to delete the account in Internet Accounts in System Preferences rather. Click on the pop-up window to be redirected to Internet Accounts, then deselect the To post checkbox for this account.

If you want to stop using the account on all apps on your Mac, click the apple logo, select System Preferences> Internet Accounts, select the Internet account you want to delete, and then press the To delete (-) button.

How to copy or move important emails before deleting an email account in Mail

If you have important emails from a specific email account that you don’t want to delete along with the entire email account, you can copy or move the email to one of your active email accounts. on Mail.

Do this before you permanently delete and sign out of the email account on your Mac. Here are the steps you need to follow:

  1. Select an email that you want to keep.
  2. Control-click to display the context menu, select either To move to Where To copy, and then select the desired destination. You can also directly drag the email to the desired destination.


Copy emails from one inbox to another on Apple Mail

Related: The Best Mail Apps For Mac

How to reconnect to Mail on a Mac

If you want to reconnect to your email account with Mail, you can do so using the following methods.

Sign in to Mail when you haven’t deleted your account

If you have only signed out of your email account and have not yet completely deleted the account, you can sign in to your account again as follows:

  1. Click it apple logo at the top and select System Preferences.
  2. Click on Internet Accounts.
  3. Select the email account for which you want to activate emails and check To post on the right.

Your emails from this account should start appearing in the Mail app.

Logging in to Mail when you deleted your account

If you deleted your email account from your Mac, just add the email account to Mail again so that you can receive emails for that email account on your Mail app.

However, if you want to explore an email client other than Apple Mail, there are plenty of good email app alternatives available for Mac.

Removing unused email accounts from the Mail app

There may be several reasons why you want to sign out of an email account in Mail. Either way, the guide above should teach you how to do it in a few easy steps.

Mail is indeed a great email client for macOS, and the more you learn, the better you can manage your inbound and outbound emails.


mail-productivity-mac

4 Mac Mail productivity tips every business professional should know

If you use the Mac Mail app in a business environment, check out these tips for getting more productive in Mail every day.

Read more


About the Author


Share.

Comments are closed.